Makes Me Smile

Did you ever buy something that when you looked at it you just had to smile? Well, this clock makes me break into a smile every time I look at it. I saw it online at the Smithsonian store and put off buying it for weeks. I thought it was too expensive, since it was such a whimsical design.

The Smithsonian description goes like this: “A modern classic design attributed to designer George Nelson, but believed by some to reflect the combination of two late-night doodles by colleague Isamu Noguchi. Wooden orbitals denote hours. Flying saucer hands tell the time. Silent and very precise. Takes one AA battery (incl.). Note: The face of the clock does not have George Nelson’s name printed on it, as it does in the product photo. It says Verichron printed at the 12 o’clock position. 13″dia.”

I decided to look and see the price of clocks designed by George Nelson and quickly realized that the price of the one offered by the Smithsonian was a real bargain.   The colors are perfect for the family room redecoration I am doing … and best of all it makes me smile!  I haven’t been this happy about a decorating find since I bought chairs for the living room when we moved back in the townhouse after the fire.

This weekend I hung it on one of the soft yellow colored walls in the family room (which happens to be my favorite place in the house).  Now that it has found its new home I will have to get the other artwork on the walls!

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Makes Me Smile

  1. Teresa says:

    I had to laugh to myself when you told me you bought the clock because I was going to buy it for you as a Graduation present..Oh well !

Leave a Reply

